Participation of a large number of Heads of State and Government

Prime Minister Yves Leterme and Minister for Foreign Affairs Steven Vanackere are pleased to receive the confirmation of the participation of a large number of Heads of State and Government at the ASEM Summit of 4 and 5 October in Brussels.

The Summit will be chaired by the President of the European Council, Mr Herman Van Rompuy. The Secretary-General of the ASEAN Secretariat, Mr Surin Pitsuwan, and the President of the European Commission, Mr José Manuel Barroso, will also be present.

Our country will host the Heads of State and Government of the following countries at the Royal Palace of Brussels : from the Asian side ; Brunei, Cambodia, China, Japan, Laos, Malaysia, Mongolia, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam, South Korea; From the European side : Austria, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia and Spain.

India will be represented by its Vice-President, the Slovak Republic and the United Kingdom by their Deputy Prime Minister. The following countries will be represented by their Minister for Foreign Affairs : the Philippines, Indonesia, Myanmar, Pakistan, Cyprus, Italy, Malta and Sweden.

The acceding members of ASEM will be represented by the Prime Minister of Australia, the Deputy Prime Minister of New Zealand and the Minister for Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation. 

(Press release of the FPS Foreign Affairs, Foreign Trade and Development Cooperation)